European Academy of Neurology

The EAN is the organisation that unites and supports neurologists across the whole of Europe. Currently, 45 European national neurological societies as well as 800 individuals are registered members of the EAN. Thus the EAN represents more than 21,000 European neurologists.

The EAN was founded during the Joint Congress of European Neurology in June 2014 by the former EFNS and ENS.


►   The 1st EAN Congress will take place in Berlin in 2015, see the link to follow for details EAN Berlin 2015 

►   The 2016 Congress will take place in Copenhagen 2016, see the link to follow for details EAN Copenhagen 2016

Further information on the EAN membership benefits may be viewed at the link to follow EAN Benefits and to subscribe to the EAN newsletter please see the linf to follow Neuropenews


The EAN is happy to offer the following grants to young neurologists:

55 grants each amounting to a maximum of € 1,800,- in order to make it possible to stay at a foreign department for 6 weeks

Up to 5 scientific grants amounting to a maximum of € 2,000.- per month.         Duration: up to 12 months

Up to 3 educational grants amounting to a maximum of € 2,000.- per month.       Duration: up to 6 months

This annual meeting offers lectures and workshops for up to 120 young neurologists. Participants pay for their travel only.

Baku, Azerbaijan: 18. - 20. June, 2014
Lusaka, Zambia, Sub Sahara Africa: 19. - 21. June, 2014
Sofia, Bulgaria: 02. - 05. October, 2014

300 bursaries, consisting of free registration to the congress and free hotel accommodation. Please apply, when submitting your abstract.

12 persons will be chosen to participate in the tournament. Selected candidates will receive a travel grant as well as hotel accommodation and free registration to the congress. Please apply, when submitting your abstract. The abstract submission portal will be open until 12 January 2015.

In memory of Professor P.K. Thomas the 1st Congress of the European Academy of Neurology is pleased to announce the P.K. Thomas Award for the best paper on peripheral nerve disorders.
Professor P.K. Thomas graciously left an annual sum of € 500.- for awarding the best work on this topic.
The papers will be evaluated during the congress and the prize winner will be announced during the closing ceremony and informed in writing after the congress.

All posters and short communications presented at the 1st Congress of the European Academy of Neurology will automatically be eligible for the investigator award. Each EAN Subspecialty Scientist Panel will select one winner.
Abstract submission deadline: 12 January 2015

Each month a CME article is published in the European Journal of Neurology and on the EAN website. Answer 5 article-related questions correctly and receive a certificate recommending one hour of CME.


Main Navigation