Irish Neuroscience Conferences

Dublin Neuroscience Conference at Beaumont Hospital 2017


At Beaumont Hospital, a weekly Dublin Neuroscience Conference is hosted each Friday morning, with presentation of clinical cases. Each month a Guest Speaker is invited to deliver a lecture to the conference. While these guest lectures are usually scheduled to take place on the first Friday of each month, occasionally they may be organised on an alternate Friday to facilitate short visits by international speakers.

Time of Conference
Directions to Beaumont
Chairperson's Rota
Registrar Case Rota August - December 2017
Sponsor Acknowledgement


 Time of Conference

The Neuroscience Conference usually commences at 09.00 . When there is a Guest Lecture, the meeting commences at 08.30, with the neuroscience conference following from 09.15 - 10.00

 Directions to Beaumont Hospital, Dublin

For directions to Beaumont Hospital please click the link to follow Beaumont Hospital Directions The neuroscience conference generally takes place in the Richard Carmichael Lecture Theatre which is accessed though the main entrance to the hospital, turn to the left in the lobby area and left again for the entrance to the lecture theatre.

 Guest Speaker Programme

                                     Programme of Guest Speakers at the Dublin Neuroscience Conference 2017

Date/ Time Venue Lecture Host Guest Lecturer Subject / Title of Lecture
February 3rd
08.30 - 09.10
Carmichael Lecture Theatre Prof. Michael
Hutchinson /
Dr. Lisa Costelloe


Prof. Basil Sharrack

"MS and STEM Cell - Hope or Hype?"

March 10th
08.30 - 09.10
Carmichael Lecture Theatre Prof. Michael Farrell

  Prof. Alexander  Green

"New Frontiers in Deep Brain Stimulation"
March 24th

Catherine McAluey Lecture Theatre, Catherine McAuley Centre, 7, Nelson Street, Dublin 7

Prof. Michael Farrell

Dr. Seán Murphy.

"History of the Neuroscience Conference"
April 21st Carmichael Lecture Theatre Prof. Norman Delanty

 Dr. Cormac O'Donovan, Wake Forest University, North Carolina, USA.

"Physician resilience: catastrophe or opportunity".
May 12th Carmichael Lecture Theatre Dr. Peter Widdess-Walsh


 Professor Hans Lüders

The Epileptogenic Zone
July 21st Carmichael Lecture Theatre Professor Tim Lynch


Dr. Maria Elena Avale

Modulating 3R:4R tau isoforms by RNA reprogramming: Functional consequences and therapeutic perspectives

August 11th Carmichael Lecture Theatre Dr. Francesca Brett

 Prof. Tom Montine, Professor of Pathology, Stanford University, USA

'Cognitive impairment in Parkinson's Disease'
September 15th  Carmichael Lecture Theatre Dr. Fiona Molloy


Prof. Tobias Bäumer, University of Lübeck

"Dystonia and the Cerebellum - Cerebellar Learning and Alcohol responsiveness in Myoclonus- Dystonia"
September 29th Carmichael Lecture Theatre Dr. Ronan Kilbride Prof. Ioannis Karakis, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA

“Epilepsy surgical treatment update: Laser ablation and responsive neurostimulation”.

October 20th
Carmichael Lecture Theatre Prof. Norman Delanty Professor Ralf Gold, Chair of Neurology, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany. "New developments in PPMS"
November 24th
Catherine McAuley lecture theatre, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital Dr. Áine Merwick
Dr. David Lynch, Institute of Neurology, Queen Square
"Genetic leukoencephalopathies: Case studies and approach to diagnosis"
December Carmichael Lecture Theatre      



































































    Chairperson's Rota

The Neuroscience Conference is chaired by a consultant on a monthly rotation. To view the Chairperson rota for the 2017 Neuroscience Conference please click the link to follow  DNC Chairperson Rota 2017

 Registrar Case Rota August - December 2017

Please note that the Registrar Case Rota for August - December 2017 has been revised. To view the Rota please click the link to follow DNC Registrar Case Rota Aug-Dec 2017

 Sponsor Acknowledgement

The 2017 Dublin Neuroscience Conference is kindly sponsored by the following companies:

  • Fannin Limited
  • Clonmel Healthcare Limited
  • Genzyme therapeutics
  • Biogen Ireland
  • Novartis Ireland
  • Bayer Limited
  • Eisai
  • Allergan Limited
  • AbbVie Limited
  • Roche Products
  • Merck Ireland
  • Shire
  • Teva Pharmaceuticals

Main Navigation