Irish Neurological Association Meeting 2009

INA2009 BrownProfR2b

Callaghan Guest Lecture:
Professor Robert H. Brown Jnr. delivered his lecture ''New Approaches to Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: From Mutations to Medicines" to a packed Irish Neurological Association Meeting at the Ballsbridge Court Hotel on Friday 15th May 2009 after being introduced by Prof Orla Hardiman.  His lecture summarised the current knowledge on the molecular mechanisms and genetics of Amyotropic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) and how this information is being applied in the search for useful therapies.
The lecture was also attended by the late Dr Noel Callaghan's family including his wife Ann and their sons Michael and John.

The standard of presentations delivered throughout the meeting was again very high. Poster presentations were given particular profile at this meeting and were gouped into several categories: Neuromuscular; Neuropathology; Neurosurgery; Cerebrovascular; Epilepsy; Multiple Sclerosis; and General Interest.

To access the full programme please click on the link: INA Programme 2009

The Meeting was very well attended and included delegates from the UK and the USA. In addition to Adult Neurology, other specialties represented included: Paediatric Neurology; Neuropathology; Neurosurgery and Clinical Neurophysiology.
Dr. Peter Kelly, Dr. Paul Crowley and Dr. Raymond Murphy.

Prize winners:
Dr David Bradley was the winner of the Harold Millar prize for best overall presentation for his paper: 'Temporal discrimination thresholds in familial AOPTD pedigrees - use of a new endophenotype'.
Dr Sandya Tirupathi received the John Kirker Prize for best epilepsy-related paper for: 'Prevalence of low bone density in an epilepsy clinic population and correlation with anti-epileptic drug use'.
The best poster prize was awarded to Dr Cheryl Sweeney for: 'Induction of IL-27 by IFN-β treatment in Multiple Sclerosis'. The prize was accepted by Dr Jean Fletcher on behalf of the presenter.
The best neurosurgical presentation was a poster delivered by Ms Linda McEvoy entitled: 'Evaluation of the spinal assessment out-patient service in Beaumont Hospital'.

                                          INA Prizewinners 2009
Dr. Sandya Tirupathi receives the John Kirker Prize for best Epilepsy related paper from the INA President 2009, Dr. Sean Connolly Dr. Sean Connolly, INA President 2009, presents the Harold Millar award for best overall presentation to Dr. David Bradley
Dr. Sean Connolly, INA President 2009, presents the award for best neurosurgical paper to Ms. Linda McEvoy Dr. Sean Connolly, INA President 2009, presents the award for best poster presentation to Dr. Jean Fletcher , accepting on behalf of Dr. Cheryl Sweeney

INA Dinner:


The INA Dinner took place in the Palatine Room at the National Museum, Collins Barracks, preceded by a reception and a walk through some of the galleries.

Following an excellent meal, the INA President, Dr Sean Connolly thanked the many colleagues who had supported him in directing the meeting.  He stated that his election as President of the INA was a great honour, particularly as his presidency was proposed by Dr Victor Patterson. Dr Connolly went on to summarise the history of the barracks and the museum and maintained that the museum, one of the 4 branches of the National Museum of Ireland, is a valuable cultural facility that is available to the public free of charge. Dr Katy Keohane thanked Dr Connolly for organising a superb meeting and for his direction of a comprehensive programme.

The 2010 INA Meeting will be organised by Dr Stanley Hawkins in Belfast.

Member Login


Main Navigation